Skip to main content

Meet the Committee

The Global Insurance Symposium is led and planned by a committee of insurance leaders from around the country. There are also six standing voting member organizations: the Iowa Insurance Division, the Greater Des Moines Partnership, Iowa Insurance Institute, Federation of Iowa Insurers, Iowa Economic Development Authority, and the Global Insurance Accelerator.

2023 Co-Chairs

Aaron Pearce

President & Chief Executive Officer
Pharmacists Mutual Insurance Company

Aaron Pearce holds a bachelor’s degree in social science from Central College in Pella, Iowa, a Juris Doctorate (JD) from the Ave Maria School of Law, and a Masters In Business Administration (MBA) from the University of Iowa, Tippie School of Business. Pearce serves as the current chair of the Des Moines, Iowa-based annual Global Insurance Symposium and as President of the Iowa Insurance Institute. Pearce also serves on the board of the Iowa Insurance Guarantee Association.

Christian Walk

Senior Vice President,
Legal & Associate General Counsel

Global Atlantic Financial Company

Christian Walk is a Senior Vice President and Associate General Counsel for Global Atlantic Financial Company. Before joining Global Atlantic in 2018, Christian practiced law for 10 years at Nyemaster Goode, P.C. in Des Moines, Iowa, where he was a shareholder in the firm’s litigation department. Christian is a graduate of the University of Northern Iowa (B.A., Electronic Media) and Drake University Law School; he is currently pursuing a Master of Arts degree in Theological Studies from Bethel Seminary. Christian also holds a Chartered Life Underwriter designation from the American College of Financial Services. Prior to pursuing a career in law, Christian spent several years as a television news anchor and reporter for the NBC-affiliate in Sioux City, Iowa.

2023 Planning Committee

Standing Voting Members
Federation of Iowa Insurers
Global Insurance Accelerator
Greater Des Moines Partnership
Iowa Economic Development Authority
Iowa Insurance Division
Iowa Insurance Institute
Active At-Large Voting Members
American Enterprise Group
BrownWinick Law Firm
Continental Western Group/Berkley
Drake University
Faegre Drinker
Farm Bureau Financial Services
Global Atlantic Financial Company
Iowa State University
Nyemaster Goode
Vaughan Institute of Risk Management and Insurance